Category: Fiction

Book Review: The Vanishing Half

The Vanishing Half By: Brit Bennett From The New York Times -bestselling author of The Mothers , a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white. The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black

Continue reading

Book Review: The Girl With The Louding Voice

The Girl With The Louding Voice By: Abi Dare A powerful, emotional debut novel told in the unforgettable voice of a young Nigerian woman who is trapped in a life of servitude but determined to fight for her dreams and choose her own future. Adunni is a fourteen-year-old Nigerian girl who knows what she wants:

Continue reading

Book Review: Dear Edward

Dear Edward By: Ann Napolitano After losing everything, a young boy discovers there are still reasons for hope in this luminous, life-affirming novel, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Patchett. What does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live? One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his

Continue reading

Audiobook Review: The Song of Achilles

The Song of Achilles By: Madeline Miller The legend begins… Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the kingdom of Phthia to be raised in the shadow of King Peleus and his golden son, Achilles. “The best of all the Greeks”—strong, beautiful, and the child of a

Continue reading

ARC / Book Review: Big Lies In A Small Town

Big Lies In A Small Town By: Diane Chamberlain Genre: Historical Fiction Rating: ✨✨✨✨ Bookish Tip: There is a life lesson in this book – Make peace with the past so one can move on. Content Warning: Rape, Racism, Sexism Special thanks to St. Martin’s Press for the advance copy in exchange for an honest

Continue reading