ARC / Book Review: Dear Emmie Blue

Dear Emmie Blue

By: Lia Louis


At sixteen, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address…and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached addressed, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens.

Now, fourteen years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship—she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off from her job. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it?

Emmie Blue is about to learn everything she thinks she knows about life (and love) is just that: what she thinks she knows. Is there such thing as meant to be? Or is it true when they say that life is what happens when you are busy making other plans? A story filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over.


Review

Genre: Contemporary Fiction

Release Date: July 14, 2020

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐💫

Bookish tip: Read when you are in the mood for your heart to smile.

Special thanks to Atria books and NetGalley for the advance copy in excahnge for an honest review.

Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis is the quintessential feel good book of the summer. It is so crazy charming that my heart just melts thinking about it. Emmie’s story is filled to the brim with heartache caused by an absentee, narcissistic mother, an unknown father and an educational system that let her down many years ago. She’s also in love with her best friend, Lucas who is engaged to another woman. Unrequited love can be nervy at times, but Louis handles it so well with her wonderful writing.

Through her lonely life, Emmie Blue remains positive. She begins to learn to create her own happiness. She believes in the world and all its possibilities. She has faith that everything works out for a reason. She’s loyal to herself and her friends to a fault even when no one “chooses” her. Her braveness and selflessness will make readers route for Emmie even more. Why? Because Emmie Blue is made of the good stuff.

Dear Emmie Blue is a story of fate and friendship. It is a love story, a story of life and a definite read for anyone who needs a little inspiration. CW: Sexual abuse

Recommendation: The best feel good story of the summer. Read it!


Need This Book In Your Life?

You can purchase Dear Emmie Blue through my Amazon storefront by clicking on the graphic below!

Rather listen to the audio books instead? Sign up with Libro.fm! They have several different plans and some of the proceeds support your local bookstore!

This post may contain affiliate links for products and services I recommend. If you make a purchase through these links, I will earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. It’s rare but I don’t want you to be misinformed.

Don’t Miss Another Post!

Don’t miss another bookish post. Subscribe to my blog today!

Are you planning to read Dear Emmie Blue? Let me know!

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.